Conference Title

Date, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand


The Reserve is managed by a Board. The current membership of the Board is as follows.

Name Affiliation, organisation or sector group conferring expertise that the person brings to the Board Place of residence
Alan Gilmore Past Superintendent of Mt John Observatory, Lake Tekapo;
Manager of the Reserve;
AMIDSR Board Secretary
Lake Tekapo
Rebecca Greatrex            Amateur astronomer                                    Geraldine
Kirsty Phillips           Tourism sector, Ngai Tahu Tourism Christchurch
Prof John Hearnshaw Royal Astronomical Society of NZ (President);
University of Canterbury;
Chair of the AMIDSR Board
Assoc Prof Karen Pollard Director of Mt John Observatory University of Canterbury Christchurch
Cr Anne Munro      representing Mackenzie District Council                                       Fairlie
Bruce Mincham     representing Local community, AMIDSR treasurer                           Twizel
Sally Jones Department of Conservation Twizel
Gavin ‘Snow’ Loxton       Tekapo farmer and environmentalist       Tekapo
Steve Butler International Dark-Sky Association Invercargill
Kaye Paardekooper Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat Lake Pukaki
Banner image courtesy of Fraser Gunn Photography, Tekapo